Don’t Be Mine – Really.

February 13, 2009 at 1:15 pm (Life) (, )

I’ve always felt as though I stood on empty wasteland between raging hatred for Valentine’s Day and loving it. It is a commercial holiday, not one I have ever felt the need to celebrate because I have never been in a relationship. I hear some people go at great lengths to redefine the meaning of the day for themselves: spending it with people they love, which does not necessarily include a significant other.

Having grown up in continental Europe, where it was never such a great deal, makes the sudden omnipresence of consumerism overwhelming. As a child, I used to consider V-Day “cute,” sometimes I’d buy Winnie the Pooh cards and give them to my friends. They never knew what exactly to do with them, as it was an unfamiliar tradition to them.

As of now, I find myself leaning towards raging hatred more and more, simply because the onslaught of advertisement is overwhelming. It is very much like Christmas in that regard. Advertisement relies on stereotypes and hypocrisy and delights in rubbing it in our, the consumers’, faces.

I really don’t appreciate that. Is it too much to ask to just be able to walk through a store without being accosted by music, pink, red, hearts and frills? Teddy bears and chocolates? Commercials on TV and radio? I keep getting messages on Facebook from various applications that remind me “It’s almost Valentine’s Day! Do something special for blah blah blah blah.”

You really thought I could forget about the bloody holiday for even an instant when I am being barraged from all sides?

Due to the accute lack of a significant other, I usually spend Valentine’s Day holed up where I don’t have to be confronted with sappy music and romance, which make me want to vomit anyway. My inner cynic has a rather loud and demanding voice. And that’s okay. My critical thinking skills are what helps me survive the workaday environment I find myself in. Tomorrow, however, I will be going out with friends. I sincerely hope D.C. will not be as cold and windy as it has been lately.

Leave a Reply

