Presentation Dilemma

February 13, 2009 at 3:06 pm (Music, School) (, )

Intro to Music Theory has been very interesting so far. I was never sure I would be capable of grasping the concepts Prof. S is attempting to make understandable. Sometime around Midterm Time ™, we are required to do a small presentation in which he introduce a piece of music. Now, I am fully aware of the fact he would not want Britney Spears or someone of the like – I don’t listen to that kind of stuff in the first place.

On the other hand, I am not quite clear on what he would like. Someone today mentioned Mars Volta (whatever kind of music they might produce) and he claimed he wanted to hear interesting stuff or something he is not familiar with. I like to think I only listen to interesting stuff, really – or at least the combination of the contents of my iTunes makes for interesting times. Tom Waits crossed my mind, but then I realized he is well-known and, Prof. S being only eight years older than I, would be familiar with this particular gent.

I also do not want to come off as a pretentious freak, so one of Mahler’s Kindertotenlieder is out of question, as is most of my classical music. The only artists I can think of that are truly interesting are the likes of the Diablo Swing Orchestra and Saltatio Mortis, both of which I don’t feel are really appropriate for the school setting. I am currently leaning heavily towards 16 Horsepower, just because I don’t think many people my age are familiar with them and I have a deep-seated love for dark folk.

Would either of these be out line? I am not quite sure. I adore 16 Horsepower and still curse myself for having missed the Wovenhand concert in HD. All I can really do is shoot Prof. S an email and hope for a proper response.

1 Comment

  1. Nate D. said,

    Well, you know how much I love 16 Horsepower. I think ‘interesting’, at this point, does leave you with the options mentioned: pretentious classical and American pre-rock musical paradigms. Now, he probably knows about Tom Waits..but if I were a professor, I’d still be pretty excited to hear him in my classroom. Kids just don’t have taste these days.

Leave a Reply

