My Funny Valentine

February 15, 2009 at 1:37 pm (Life) (, , )

Spending several days pretty much holed up at home is, as everyone ought to know, not the best way to spend time. Even though it may involve wasting time on the most awesome website in the world. (Jezebel.com, yo! Check it out!) Getting invited to a special sales day in a bookstore in downtown D.C. was a Godsend.

I did not spend Valentine’s Day holed up inside muttering about how much I hated the “day of love.” I managed to avoid a lot of pink and frills this year, which makes me happy.

I purchased three books: East o’ the Sun & West o’ The Moon, a compilation of 59 Norwegian folk tales by George Webbe Dasent. Marie Antoinette by Antonia Fraser. Flu – The Great Story of the Great Influence Pandemic of 1918 and the Search for the Virus That Caused It by Gina Kolata.

Fairy tales have always been special to me. My family strongly encouraged creativity when I grew up. I have little to no understanding of Rococco France and thought it would be interesting. And the book on the flu is an entirely different matter I will return to at some other point. All in all, though, I would say I had a great time.

1 Comment

  1. Raspberry Swirl said,

    That flu book sounds fascinating. The plague is more my thing, though. I am odd.

Leave a Reply

