Going Bump . . . In the Attic

February 16, 2009 at 6:05 pm (Life) ()

It seems I am somehow cursed; wherever I dwell, something dwells in the attic. At home in Germany, it is family of Siebenschläfer (known as “Glis glis” or “edible dormice” as well). In England, it is ghosts. Here in the US, it appears we have either squirrels or mice or even rats. Squirrels I can handle, mice and rats – not so much.

I was editing a definition essay when I noticed this skittery-skattery noise coming from upstairs, occasionally accompanied by some squeaking. The den, where I spend most of my days in front of the computer doing schoolwork, has the only entrance to the attic. It is a light-colored wood trap door in the ceiling.

At first, I thought perhaps the cat was making a racket. Odin, however, is a lazy, fat animal. When he does move, it is usually with glacial slowness. It would also never occur to him to hunt something down. I might now have an explanation for his spacey behavior, though. I’m willing to bet he listens to the noises upstairs.

Honestly, I prefer the ghosts in England because at least they won’t give me diseases.

4 Comments

  1. Raspberry Swirl said,

    At least it’s not that creepy story we got from that one Jezzie. I can’t even remember most of it but I know it was creepy.

  2. vocisexmachina said,

    I thought all of the ghost stories that were told were freaky. Ghost children, animals and everything. GAH.

  3. Raspberry Swirl said,

    Oh, they totally were. I mean the one in…Wisconsin? I think…

  4. Emma said,

    I love animals. Great blog and hope to have some time soon to come back and read more!

Leave a Reply

