Taste The Rainbow

February 18, 2009 at 6:31 pm (Life) (, , , )

A care package from Germany arrived today, sent by my loving family. Inside, I found the following:

  • medication
  • a scarf
  • gloves
  • gummy bears
  • Yummy Dough

Yes, you read right. Yummy Dough. This goes back to my father’s investment firm having recently taken a look at investing into a company producing a truly edible equivalent to playdough. He brought it up once and my younger sister and I thought it was so hilarious we wanted some. Play-Do is edible, yes, but it does not taste good – Yummy Dough(tm) is mixed with from powder and water. The powder comes in four colors per package: red, green, blue and yellow. You mix it, roll it, play around with it, make odd shapes and whatnot, and then bake it. After it comes out of the oven, it is tasty and edible! (Or so the packaging claims.)

Yummy DoughWhen I opened the the care package, I burst out laughing. I had totally forgotten about the entire story. My dad also tends to be a bit on the flaky side and doesn’t necessarily remember things well. (Case in point: He actually tried signing me up for schools with a wrong birthday – Dec 17th, 1989 instead of Dec 18th, 1988. Repeatedly.) The fact he had that little exchange with my kid sister and I at the back of his mind spells awesome to me.

And here I was worried that I would run out of things to write about.

6 Comments

  1. Raspberry Swirl said,

    That lion (is that a lion? lol) looks so pleased that he’s going to get eaten.

  2. vocisexmachina said,

    Yes, it is a lion! Seriously, I was whining and complaining about not being able to get the package open even with scissors, then I did, lifted off the scarf and went, “BWAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAA!”

  3. Raspberry Swirl said,

    Man…I wish we had something like that here! Unless we do. In which case, I just wanna smell it.

  4. vocisexmachina said,

    I could always try and make a lion for you? And send it? Except it would probably go stale by then.

  5. Raspberry Swirl said,

    Oh man, it would be horrendously stale, haha. But thanks for the thought!

  6. Nate D. said,

    I circumvent the whole situation by playing with all of my food.

Leave a Reply

