Lovely Ladies Part II

March 12, 2009 at 9:39 pm (Art, Fun, Music) (, , , )

In continuation of favorite female artists! This time it is pop music because, yes, I listen to that sometimes. Honest.

What would a list be without the inspirational Kate Bush? I came by my love for her on my own, as my older sister, who grew up in the 80s and 90s, was more of a Sting enthusiast. Her song-writing is amazing, if obscure, and that’s awesome, just like her unmistakable voice.

Ladies and gentlemen: ANNIE LENNOX. I sincerely envy her recognizable, soulful voice, not to mention her charisma. (May I add that I cover the jacket she wears in that video?)

I would be a major ass if I didn’t include some of my favorite German artists. Judith Holofernes (yes, it is a stage name) of Wir Sind Helden is the lyricist; a lot of her songs hit home on very mundane matters. She is a brilliant woman with razor wit and an infectious smile.

More from Germany: Silbermond have done what hasn’t happened in a long time, which is actually make German music popular IN Germany. For a long time all you heard on the radio was music imported by big record companies from the US. With Silbermond came a veritable revolution of German popular music.

It’s Cyndi Lauper. Do I REALLY have to say anything?

I’m not going to lie. I have a bit of a girlcrush on Andrea Corr; she’s always seemed like a great person with a fantastic voice. She also sang for the Warner Bros. movie “Quest For Camelot,” which includes one of the best roles ever written for a female cartoon character.

K.D. Lang’s rendition of “Hallelujah” is probably my favorite, period. I enjoy the rest of her music as well.

What the hell would this list be without Kylie? She deserves a lot of kudos for what she’s accomplished, including beating the shit out of breast cancer.

I’m almost a little reluctant to put Duffy in this category because I’m not quite sure where she falls into, but I do have to settle for pop because she is very well-known at this time.

4 Comments

  1. llhaesa said,

    I am familiar with five of your list, with Kate, Annie, and Cyndi long time favourites.

    I personally swoon over Beth Orton, but… nice list!

  2. Meg said,

    Annie Lennox. I “discovered” her with her brilliant video for “Why” and kept on loving her when “Walking on Broken Glass” came out. The videos for both are as awesome as the songs.

    However, hands down, I adore “No More I Love You’s” the most.

    • vocisexmachina said,

      I love Annie Lennox to bits; she did a lovely duet with Sting (“We’ll Be Together,” for Bridget Jones’ Diary, I believe) and it’s a tie between “Walking On Broken Glass” and “Little Bird” in terms of favorites for me. Not to mention her Eurhythmics stuff.

      • Meg said,

        Tyra would love her for her eyes in her videos. Ha!

        I know that I’ve heard the song on the Bridget Jones soundtrack. I need to pull it out and have another listen. I recall liking it, but I just can’t think how it goes right now!

Leave a Reply

