Lovely Ladies Part III

March 13, 2009 at 11:16 am (Art, Fun, Music) (, , , )

Here I’ll be featuring the more alternative artists, the ones that defy all categories in general. I’m glad I decided to do this because it does make me very aware of my strange, distinctive and somewhat biased taste in music. Maybe, sometime when I am done with my midterms, I will dedicate a few posts to some of my favorite bands featuring male vocalists.

Let’s start out with Neko Case; this lady is a brilliant, very underrated lady I would like to hear on the radio AT ALL. Her lyrics are brilliant, if a little obscure, and she draws a lot of influence from country though what she does is really folk at heart.

The Duhks, I believe, have since switched singers, but I prefer this voice to the new one. She has an interesting, husky quality without falling into obnoxious territory. She clearly knows her style and executes it well.

I’m not so sure of her personality, but fact is, Carla Bruni is an immensely talented lady. I have a strong bias against the French language (and people, but let’s not get into that or we’ll be here all night). I like her soft, whispery voice and what I’ve read of her songs. It’s been a while since France has produced decent chansóns.

Happy Rhodes has an INCREDIBLE range; I’ve often heard this song mistaken for a duet between Annie Lennox and Kate Bush, when, in truth, it is one single person singing. “When The Rain Came Down” is a beautiful song I can listen to for hours on loop.

This song apparently a bunch of controversy in the UK for its dark, dark humor. Amanda Palmer is better known for her participation in the band The Dresden Dolls, who, according to their own description, produce Brechtian punk cabaret. I can deal with that description.

I have to admit I don’t know terribly much about Imogen Heap save for the fact she produces all her own music and had a record contract that was cancelled and then reinstated after her fan support remained strong. She strikes me as an interesting woman I would like to know more about.

I’ve listened to Inkubus Sukkubus for years now and had for some reason never bothered to look up music videos for them. Maybe because my knowledge of their existence preceded YouTube. Heavy on the Wiccan lore, but still neat.

Whenever I am at home, I am serenaded with this song by my younger sister. Karen Zoid is from South Africa, was born in Belgium, I don’t know much more about her; but I figured she deserved to be in the list somewhere. I also think anyone who’s ever flown anywhere knows exactly what she sings of.

Last but not least is Mariha. I tried to find better clips of her, but most of them are not embeddable and I hate to make people click their way through the internet. If you really want to hear a higher quality version, you can find it here; her song Absolutely Entertaining was done for the German movie Barfuss and I highly recommend it.

1 Comment

  1. watcat said,

    Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

Leave a Reply

