Bubonic Plague!

March 14, 2009 at 2:40 pm (Life, School) (, , , , )

I dislike PSAs. I truly do. Sometimes, however, they are necessary, especially when they are plain old common sense. OR SHOULD BE. Thus, excuse the following rant.

Ladies and gents, what I speak of is called basic hygiene.

When you are sick, please, don’t cough into other people’s faces. Don’t cough or sneeze, covering your mouth, and then shake others’ hands or touch them in other ways. When you are ill, carry hand sanitizer with you and use it before you touch something. When you use the bathroom, wash your hands. Don’t wipe your noses on your sleeves, don’t even put your hands near your eyes, nose and mouth because that is how you will become ill.

Most importantly, however, if you notice your health is deteriorating due to a cold and you happen to spend a lot of time in the music faculty, stay home. A large percentage of the music major population is made up by singers. When you pass on respiratory illnesses, a lot of people can be affected. I, for example, have a history of laryngitis on top of asthma and severe allergies. I am extremely susceptible to whatever bug you may be passing around. Do not expect me to be nice and charitable as you sit in the hallway waiting for our professor to start our chorus session, where fifty other students will be singing, as you whine “I have the flu.”

When I got sick, I decided I wouldn’t pass the “love” on. I wrote my professors a polite email stating that I was extremely sorry for not being able to come to class that day, but I was ill and didn’t think anyone else deserved to spend the day retching over the toilet. My voice teacher and chorus professor replied with a heart-felt thank you for demonstrating common sense. Please, could everyone else display this as well?

1 Comment

  1. Raspberry Swirl said,

    So….you don’t have the plague? Awww, I was going to ask you to take pictures of your grody boils for my personal research files!

    Also, I totally agree with everything you said. I don’t understand why people feel the need to share their sickness.

Leave a Reply

