Thrift

May 2, 2009 at 8:06 pm (Fun) (, , , , )

There is a gigantic thrift store two blocks away from where I live. Today, my aunt and I decided to brave it for the first time since I arrived. I didn’t feel like battling the crapload of people going through the clothing racks, so C. and I decided to just wander around. It is a huge place, with the most random stuff. My acquisitions.

dscf1996A butterfly, apparently a blue morpho. At first I wasn’t sure if this actually WAS a real butterfly because the colors just seemed so incredibly unnatural. The wings are iriscedent, the blue coloring is gorgeous, the pattern of the wings is fantastic. Then I remembered that nature does crazy things; the body looks a little crushed, but very bug-like; you can see the veins in the wings. I don’t know what I’ll do with it, but it struck my fancy.

dscf1999IT LOOKED PRETTY, OKAY? I have a lack of large, gaudy jewelry and this is shiny and interesting enough to keep my happy.

dscf2002The turquoise pendant I have owned for quite some time now, but I had never managed to find a good necklace to put it on. So. Problem solved.

1 Comment

  1. Britni (VadgeWig) said,

    I love that second necklace. I want to steal it.

Leave a Reply

