Bah! Humbug!

May 20, 2009 at 7:20 am (Life) (, , )

As most of you may have gathered from my frequent bitchy Facebook status updates, I have been having some major difficulties with my asthma over the past few days. After being under control for well over four years, I’ve basically been sitting on the edge of an asthma attack for the past few days now. I made a stop at the emergency room yesterday because it got so bad.

There’s really not much to say; the doc pretty much said that he couldn’t hear the typical rattling and wheezing in my lungs when he listened to me, but that’s not terribly comforting. I know what it feels like to have constricted breathing. My neck and chest were pulling in painfully with every breath I was taking, my coughing is dry and almost pertussis-like in its sound. They also gave me the side-eye when I told them I was not on steroid medication because it gave me laryngitis. I hate it when that happens. I am part of a small, small percentage of people who react badly to inhaled corticosteroids. Deal with it. Stop looking at me like I’m an idiot.

Last night was oodles of fun, obviously. The nebulizer treatment in the hospital only lasted for about two hours or so. Once I left the hospital again, my breathing went straight back to shit. I can’t find my peak flow meter and I would fucking HATE to have to go to family practice and have them prescribe me a new peak flow meter. My medication dose has drastically increased and an oral steroid will probably have to be added for a few days so this can pass. Normally, I am on one puff of cromolyn inhaler, four times a day, along with a montelukast tablet in the evening along with certirizine. Now I am on two puffs of albuterol along with one puff of cromolyn, four times a day; one montelukast tablet and the certirizine.

On the upside, if I have to add an oral steroid, that usually clears up any and all infections in my body. And my voice gets an ear-splitting clear edge when I sing. I WILL BE SUPERWOMAN!

We assume the attack was triggered by the combination of pollen, stress, air travel and dust that accumulates in our house like crazy. My plans for July have also been changed; it appears I will be going to England rather than Germany, which is fine by me.

1 Comment

  1. ladysoprano said,

    Ahh, hon. What a drag!

    But does going to England mean you get to see your dog?

Leave a Reply

