Travel Sickness

May 25, 2009 at 11:18 am (Life) (, , )

Don’t get me wrong. I love seeing new places and meeting new people and new experiences. What I do hate, however, is the actual traveling part.

I hate sitting in a flying tin can for hours with screaming babies and energetic toddlers. I hate people who cannot sit still, who seem to need something from the overhead compartment every ten minutes or so. I despise it when people have to climb over me to reach the bathroom. I hate it when flight attendants basically have to climb over me because some idiot is blocking the aisle; or when they slam into me with carts. I hate standing in line at passport control and having to explain why I have multiple passports*. I hate how travel screws with my inner clock and I end up with a headache and remain cranky for quite some time until I adjust.

I have been traveling entirely too much for my liking lately, and it won’t calm down until the end of August. I am flying back to England on the evening of July 3rd, will spend about a month in England, then fly to Montreal. I will be in Montreal for a few days, then I fly to San Francisco! From San Francisco, I am flying to England, where I will stay a week, then fly back to Washington, D.C. for school. I realize this is the whining of someone who has the privilege and parents who have enough money to travel this frequently, but sometimes I need to complain.

That said, I wouldn’t trade the traveling for anything. It allows me to meet people I haven’t met before or haven’t seen in a long time. I will be fine once my jetlag headache subsides.

(*The reason being: One of them is expired, but contains my not-expired visa for Germany. One is a military issued passport that will expire in a few years that contains my visa for England. The third is my regular tourist passport. I usually only brandish the expired one and the current tourist passport when I fly into Germany to avoid a hassle. The military-issued one is the one I use when I fly to England because English border control is full of idiots. THEY STAMPED OVER MY PERFECTLY VALID VISA ONCE. WTF?)

Leave a Reply

