Under The Weather

June 5, 2009 at 3:46 pm (Life) (, , )

In which I start planning and brainstorming the construction of a truly epic ark. For those of you who do not live in Maryland, it has been raining incessantly since yesterday afternoon and throughout the week, the rain only let up on occasion. My aunt’s plants are drowning. There have been repeated flash flood warnings for the area. It is a sad state of affairs.

However, when the flooding does occur, I WILL BE SAFE IN MY GREAT BIG BOAT.

Or something to that extent.

The situation with Class Voice has improved significantly. I no longer sit next to Ms. Tonedeaf, but instead next to T, the other Jewish girl. She is full of snark and win. We’ve been getting on very well. I have settled on which two songs to perform for the Class Voice finals (Brams’ “Sonntag,” which forces me to work on the lower end of my register because we all know how much easier it is for me to play around on the higher end, and presumably “Vaga Luna” by Bellini, depending on how badly I hate myself.) Dr. D has been kind enough to inform me I’ve been steadily unlearning one of my bad habits – pushing air out – and that pleases me a great deal. It’s a habit I presumably learned while I was still a semi-functioning autodidact and then when I had a male voice teacher.

Singing’s easier these days. It feels like less work, and that’s the way it’s supposed to be. On some level, though, it scares me. It shouldn’t be this easy, some part of me tells me. I’m most afraid of that fear creating a new thing for me to work on. So I will try not to tense up, think too much and just work on posture and breath control. ONE DAY, MY FRIENDS.

So. Life has been okay, for most part, if you ignore my incessant whining. Less than a month until I can go home!

Leave a Reply

