Dentist 1, Dani 0

August 18, 2009 at 11:19 pm (Life) (, , , )

Since a bunch of my readers have friended me on Facebook or are following me on Twitter, you probably will have heard about my dental woes already. About three weeks ago I had a dental appointment where my cavity-infested molar was to be fixed. Easy-peasy, right? Right. So we thought. Looking back, there were a few warning signs of worse things to come.

Exhibit A: It took four shots of regular pain killers followed by some hardcore Novocaine to numb my gums enough for the dentist to drill. At first, we thought it was a small cavity. It was. HOWEVER, it went deep and I think the dentist must have laid open the nerve because of this.

Exhibit B: I was hurting like hell afterwards, to the point where I had to skip going to the gym because my whole jaw was throbbing. Excedrin and Motrin became my new best friends. I chalked the pain down as my body coping with the trauma of drilling and the subsequent adjustment that goes along with having foreign substances inserted into it.

The pain did not wear off. It got bad enough that half a week later, I dropped by for dental sick call. The dentist shrugged my concerns off because my tooth was not reacting to blowing cold air on it or him banging on it repeatedly. My tooth was doing whatever the hell it felt like doing. I was prescribed higher doses of Motrin for the pain; because Motrin is an anti-inflammatory drug, we were also hoping this would help.

The next two weeks we went on vacation and let me tell you, it is not pleasant to have to swallow 800 mg of Motrin three times a day in order to keep the level of pain bearable. The pain killers often wore off in the middle of the night or when I was eating or doing whatever I was doing, resulting in severe aching and extreme crankiness. I become really mean when I hurt. I would not have liked to be around me, frankly. We ran out of the prescription Motrin at the beginning of our stay in San Francisco. I raided my mother’s supply. That ran out too. I took my dad’s Aspirin and some hardcore meds. Those were short-term pain killers more than anything. We bought more Motrin at the local Walgreen’s. We ran out of that too. Back to the Aspirin and Phenergen. Cranky hurting flight back to Heathrow. We walked in the door of our house; I ingested two extra strength Exedrin and four Advil within two minutes of arriving back at home.

The dentist was called. I was squeezed in on sick call again.

We made the run to Croughton. My body’s still messed up on time zone changes (as evidenced by the fact I am writing this at four AM) so of course I was awake at godawful hours in the morning, which meant more pain killers. My body was still processing 800 mg of Advil and two Exedrins when we arrived at the dental clinic, which meant it wasn’t too bad to have the dentist bang on my tooth and whatnot. He decided to take out the filling and replace it, though he thought a root canal would be necessary; he took the filling out.

LO AND BEHOLD! The nerve under the plastic filling was bleeding! Not only that, but the blood had accumulated under the filling. We assume there must have also been an inflammatory chemical reaction from the blood with the plastic filling. The nerve was still viable because it was bleeding, meaning it was alive, but it was going to die sooner or later. We decided to go ahead with the root canal. Two numbing shots – I am still able to feel the drilling. The third one does the trick and leaves everything in my mouth swollen and numb for hours, but at least I can’t feel them scraping pulp out of my tooth, not to mention cutting and pulling out the giant-ass nerve. I made them show me the nerve. It looked like a dead worm, in terms of size and coloring. (For all of you who didn’t take a lot of biology back in high school or even college, that means it is HUGE by cordata standards. We have fatty tissue around our nerves to make the electric transmission of signals faster and more efficient; critters without spines don’t have those, so the nerve of an octopus, for example, can be almost as huge as a medium-sized carrot.)

What I did not know about root canals is that they irritate the shit out of the inside of your tooth in order to kill off everything inside. They use bleach. YES, YOU HEARD ME RIGHT. BLEACH. Did I mention dental dams sometimes leak? Let me tell you, bleach tastes fucking nasty. The tooth, ironically, hurts a lot less now than it did before and there certainly isn’t that dreadful dull ache anymore. However, it is not happy when I bite down on things, even when I chew on the other side of my mouth. Even soggy cereal makes it angry. Motrin again.

So now I basically have a dead tooth in my mouth; the follow-up appointment to fix it up the rest of the way is next Tuesday, or maybe Monday, depending on whether the inspection of the dental clinic is on Monday or Tuesday. The dentist was also pretty nice once I got over my crankiness with his ignoring of my pain two weeks beforehand.

That, my friends, is my dental saga. Let us keep our fingers crossed that this is my first and last root canal for a LONG time.

1 Comment

  1. Meg said,

    Oh shit! That sounds awful. I hope it all clears up soon.

    That said, I didn’t notice cranky, mean Dani in San Francisco. : )

Leave a Reply

